What I Know About God

It’s probably silly to speak of God as having a race, but if He does I’m pretty sure He’s black. Black–or maybe Samoan. Anyway, He’s definitely not a white guy like me. Don’t ask me how I know this. It’s revelation. It’s just something I know.

God has also revealed to me that He disagrees with my political views. I am a middle-of-the-road Democrat with libertarian leanings. God is more right wing, both in a cultural and a free-market sense. I am pro-choice, but God is firmly opposed to abortion. He has an enthusiasm for privatized charter schools that I cannot match. We end up in roughly the same place on gun control, though my motivation is purely pragmatic, whereas God is a Second Amendment absolutist. I would be happy with the marginal income tax rate topping out at 50%, but God wants it more in the 20-25% range.

But in a way this talk of God and domestic American politics is beside the point because He has revealed to me…Well, it’s not that God dislikes America, but to Him it’s just another country. Nothing special. These days emerging economies are what’s dear to God’s heart–particularly the BRIC nations. I guess He takes the long view. Now, I am an American, and so to me this country is pretty damn special. I wish God felt otherwise, but what can you do? I’m me and He’s Him.

It would be easier if God had revealed that I was falling away from Him in ways that were clearly personal shortcomings. I could welcome it if He wanted me to, say, drink less, or be more patient with people. That would feel like encouragement from a stern but loving father who just wants you to do better. But instead I’m stuck with revelations telling me that the core of who I am, what I believe, and how I was raised are all wrong. I don’t want to change these core beliefs, but God told me to, so I guess I have no choice. That’s just what everybody does.

This entry was posted in Etcetera. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

